2019 SCGA Amateur Championship – Final Results

No Gray Skies For the 88th Amateur Champion

Greer, S.C. - Donned as the largest number to try and qualify for the event, 144 would have a shot at the opportunity to call themselves the 88th SCGA Amateur Champion but only one would walk away with the Billy Lewis Trophy. The final round of the championship at Thornblade Club in Greer, SC started on time and was completed without delays, which was unusual compared to prior days. Starting the day with the lead, Tyler Gray would begin his trek to the winner’s circle and never look back.

Heading into the back nine, Gray held a one-shot lead over Raymond Wooten (Clemson) and Jake Carter (Aiken), however that lead would quickly increase as Gray would card back-to-back birdies on 12 and 13 to increase his lead to four shots. Draining a 12-foot putt for par on the gentle dogleg left par-four 14th hole, Gray would again increase his lead with a birdie on the par-five 15th hole and put it in cruise control to victory.

Holding back his emotions in his post-round interview Gray expressed, “a year ago I couldn’t break 80 and here I am today.” When asked about the process to this victory Gray said, “My Coach (Coach Jim Garren – Coastal Carolina University) took me under his wing and kept believing in me and I couldn’t be more grateful to him for taking a chance on me this year.”

In contention throughout the week, Logan Sowell of Kershaw chipped in on the difficult 18th  for birdie securing his spot as the runner-up for the tournament with a stellar performance. Firing a tournament low the first day of competition, Carter would slide into a solo third-place finish after birdies on 12 and 14, edging Wooten and Christian Salzer (Sumter) who tied for 4th place overall.

The top 20 and ties will be exempt next year into the 89th Amateur Championship at Columbia Country Club in Blythewood, South Carolina.

For more information about the 88th SCGA Amateur Championship including pairings, detailed scoring, results, and other tournament information – 2019 SCGA Amateur Championship

The 2019 SCGA Amateur Championship was played at Thornblade Club over the par 71 – 6,703 yard Tom Fazio layout. The field consisted of 144 players that were either exempt or qualified at one of four sites. The Amateur Championship is one of 21 Major Championships conducted by the South Carolina Golf Association and is in its 88th year of existence. 

Final Results:

Pos.PlayerCityR1R2R3R4TotalTo ParGift Cert.
1Tyler GrayLugoff67666768268-16$750.00
2Logan SowellKershaw66686870272-12$500.00
3Jake CarterAiken64706970273-11$400.00
T4Raymond WootenClemson69686770274-10$250.00
T4Christian SalzerSumter69686671274-10$250.00
T4Matt CarterEasley67726669274-10$250.00
7Colby PattonFountain Inn71706569275-9$190.00
8Judson HollidayAynor66707070276-8$180.00
T9Todd WhiteRoebuck69687070277-7$146.00
T9Jamie WilsonMt. Pleasant69706969277-7$146.00
T9Robert LutomskiSimpsonville70696771277-7$146.00
T12Brady HinkleLancaster73676672278-6$110.00
T12Caleb ProveauxLexington70686872278-6$110.00
T12Connor FaheyGreenville68736572278-6$110.00
T15JD LehmanGreenville70686675279-5$78.00
T15Josh BranyonHonea Path67707171279-5$78.00
T15Christian BalikerSimpsonville72696870279-5$78.00
T15Gene ZeiglerFlorence70707267279-5$78.00
T15Jordan WarnockRoebuck69726870279-5$78.00
T20Michael SimsLexington69707071280-4$70.00
T20Jack ParrottColumbia66727567280-4$70.00
T20Jon ParkerGreenwood72687070280-4$70.00
T20Jordan SeaseLexington73696870280-4$70.00
T24Danny BrockGreenville66717272281-3$70.00
T24Ryan MarterColumbia69687074281-3$70.00
T26Seth TaylorGaffney71726970282-2$50.00
T26Nick WillisCowpens73716771282-2$50.00
T26Zach BishopTravelers Rest71707071282-2$50.00
T26Kyle BeardenBarnwell73707267282-2$50.00
T26Nicholas MayfieldRock Hill72707268282-2$50.00
31Levi MoodyGreenville70717171283-1 
T32Will BrooksWoodruff71707172284E 
T32Walt Todd, JrGreenville72726971284E 
T32Jake MillerAnderson71717171284E 
T32Thomas Todd IIILaurens71727368284E 
36Brannan HudsonSimpsonville697170752851 
T37Matthew SmithSeneca696970782862 
T37Mickey LankfordN. Charleston677375712862 
T37Daniel BrasingtonWoodruff727074702862 
T37Zack GordonGaffney747072702862 
41Zachary HeroldLexington716971762873 
T42Joey MaxonClemson726875732884 
T42William OvendenMt. Pleasant707177702884 
T42Grant SellersMcBee717471722884 
T42Garrett CooperCowpens737073722884 
T42Matt TeasterSpartanburg707273732884 
T47Brandon MastersPiedmont726775752895 
T47Bobby FewLugoff667873722895 
T47Daniel EzelleTaylors737074722895 
T47Garland FerrellGreenville707570742895 
51Walker JonesSumter687269812906 
T52Seth RobertsonInman726874772917 
T52Connor MooreBluffton737368772917 
T52Jeremy RevisGreenville746974742917 
T52Pierce FoxGreenville727274732917 
T56Austin ScottDaniel Island707175762928 
T56Matthew HopperGreenville746977722928 
T56Patrick GoldenMurrells Inlet727471752928 
T59Carter BinghamGreer677379742939 
T59Chris EassyGreer737273752939 
T59Kevin KingBluffton727175752939 
T59Michael RialsFlorence746877742939 
T63Nelson DicksonGreenville7472747429410 
T63Parker MacdonaldGreer7471767329410 
T63Robert DarganColumbia7372747529410 
T63Levi JoinerProsperity7571727629410 
T63Palmer MasonIrmo6974737829410 
68Chad CarterAiken7165758429511 
69Austin ReevesGreenville7074747929713 
T70Jonathan MaullCharleston7175817229915 

Kenny Shockley



Sponsors and Partners

© Copyright 2023. South Carolina Golf Association. All Rights Reserved.
Website & Hosting by BlueTone Media