23rd Annual Tournament of Champions – Final Round Results

SCGA Tournament of Champions
TPC Myrtle Beach
Murrells Inlet, SC
January 26-27, 2019

Champions Crowned at TPC Myrtle Beach

The final round of the 23rd Annual Tournament of Champions began as a carbon copy of the first round. Frigid overnight temperatures loomed forcing the final round to be delayed by an hour but it did not deter great golf to be seen throughout the day.

In the Men’s Club Champion Division, Jon Weiss (Florence) battled back from a one shot deficit after the first round to shoot a final round score of 68 to claim the title with a two day total of 5 under par 139. In the Senior Club Champion Division, Doug Tooke (Greenville) took the title after a final round score of even par 72 and a tournament total of 147.  John Obrien (Columbia) was able to hold on to his lead in the One Day Gross Division after a final round of 75.  In the Senior One Day Division, Eddie Hargett (Blythewood) shot a final round of one under 71 to take home the title by four shots.  Makalyn Poole (Williamston) continued her steady play to take home the Women’s Division with a two day total of 155. Dan Gaither (Greer) carded a second round of net 68 to secure the Net Division Title.

The 23rd Annual Tournament of Champions was played over the TPC Myrtle Beach layout in Murrells Inlet, S.C. The field consisted of 93 men & women Club Champions and One Day tournament Champions throughout South Carolina. The Tournament of Champions is one of 21 Major Championships that the South Carolina Golf Association conducts throughout the year.

Final Results

Club Champion Division  
Pos.PlayerCityR1R2TotalTo ParGift Cert.
1Jon WeissFlorence7168139-5$250.00
2James LightseyIndian Land7171142-2$200.00
T3Raymond WootenClemson7370143-1$137.00
T3Kevin RobertsChesnee7073143-1$137.00
5Rich WestonPawleys Island78701484$100.00
T6Dan HoganBlythewood79741539 
T6Mike CobbSummerville79741539 
8Brian HewatRock Hill797615511 
T9T.A. FulmerCharleston787815612 
T9Ryan PetzColumbia797715612 
11Rich HoughtonElgin788015814 
12Sean McAvoyJohns Island807915915 
13Will FergusonMoore798116016 
T14Jonathan AlkisMount Pleasant808116117 
T14Matthew FarboMoncks Corner857616117 
16Jeff ChapaSummerville808216218 
17Brian CritzerCayce768716319 
18Andrew MezwickiFort Mill828216420 
19Christopher JonesBeaufort828416622 
20Henry TaylorSpartanburg828516723 
21Marty BunchSummerville917716824 
22Marty HensonPiedmont828917127 
23Robert LindleySummerville898517430 
24Eric WestLexington909318339 
Senior Club Champion Division  
Pos.PlayerCityR1R2TotalTo ParGift Cert.
1Doug TookeGreenville75721473$250.00
2Tim PopeSpartanburg74741484$200.00
3John DennisGreenville75741495$150.00
4Bill HallRock Hill77751528$125.00
5Bob FiskSeabrook Island76771539$100.00
6Ken KirklandSimpsonville748015410 
T7Kevin McGrainInman797715612 
T7Steve ScottInman787815612 
T9Charles BradeyCampobello787915713 
T9Greg AustinChapin768115713 
T9Robert WamboldtSummerville787915713 
T12Richard RebholzRock Hill778115814 
T12John HenckenBluffton807815814 
T14Chris BarnesGreenwood808016016 
T14Neal McKelliganPawleys Island817916016 
16Jack StoneNorth Charleston798216117 
17Francis LizauckasMyrtle Beach808516521 
18Ken HauserColumbia858216723 
19George KoernerPawleys Island838616925 
20Bob LoweMurrells Inlet828917127 
21Louis StraubNinety Six858717228 
22Mark GregoryBelmont888617430 
23Michael ChodnickiSummerville859317834 
24Richard MillerNorth Myrtle Beach928818036 
25William OlawskyLexington948718137 
26Steven SwierLexington919818945 
WDBo LeslieSimpsonvilleWD WD  
One Day Gross Division  
Pos.PlayerCityR1R2TotalTo ParGift Cert.
1John ObrienColumbia72751473$250.00
2Doug RameyGreer75761517$200.00
3Alex FinkeCharleston79731528$150.00
T4Chris CampbellCharleston787615410 
T4Eric NordBlythewood767815410 
6Phil PfeifferMurrells Inlet758215713 
7Tim EichColumbia768215814 
8Jared BeardGaston847616016 
9Paul CottonLugoff818616723 
10Justin ButlerGreer868316925 
11Devon FreemanLaurens898617531 
12Cason MabryClinton968818440 
Senior One Day Division  
Pos.PlayerCityR1R2TotalTo ParGift Cert.
1Eddie HargettBlythewood7171142-2$250.00
2Mike CaprioGreer75711462$200.00
3Frank FinleyLaurens70801506$150.00
4Roger PageDuncan74781528 
5Casey SmithAbbeville718515612 
6Mike MinyardSimpsonville847716117 
7Willie HuffGreenville857916420 
8Darryl KuenzerHodges838516824 
9Darryl AveryhartColumbia927917127 
10Rich HaddadGreer938117430 
Women's Division  
Pos.PlayerCityR1R2TotalTo ParGift Cert.
1Makalyn PooleWilliamston797615511$250.00
2Sydney RobertsChesnee828016218$200.00
3Natalie HuffElgin877816521$150.00
4Chrissie SpidellAnderson828817026 
5Heather CairnsColumbia999819753 
6Nancy HolcombePickens10010020056 
7Devvy WalkerGreenville10010620662 
8Janet BowersEasley11110221369 
9Jennifer HoustonCharleston10911222177 
WDKaren HarwoodSalemWD WD  
One Day Net Division  
Pos.PlayerCityR1R2Total NetTo ParGift Cert.
1Dan GaitherGreer7068138-6$250.00
2Joe TuckerLyman6872140-4$200.00
3Dennis GuerrieroLexington7170141-3$150.00
4Harry FergusonWest Columbia7073143-1 
T5Jeremy LittleMauldin72741462 
T5Donald StegallLexington71751462 
7Mike SherrWilliamston74741484 
8Greg HooksSpartanburg78751539 
9Will BranhamWest Columbia748115511 
10Rick OyervidesGreer788015814 
11Blake AllenCayce798216117 
12Glenn AllenSwansea837916218 

Sponsors and Partners

© Copyright 2024. South Carolina Golf Association. All Rights Reserved.
Website & Hosting by BlueTone Media