40th Annual Junior Championship

Hendrix Wins SCGA Junior

Lexington: Matthew Hendrix of Aiken posted a final round 71 to win the 40th Annual South Carolina Golf Association Junior Championship. His six-under-par 210 total gave the rising senior at South Aiken High School a five stroke margin of victory in the 54 hole Championship conducted at the Country Club of Lexington, June 9-11.

The top eight finishers overall will represent South Carolina in the South Carolina / Georgia Team Matches to be played at the Idle Hour Club in Macon, Georgia, July 17 & 18. Greg Jones picked up the last spot on the third hole of a sudden death playoff against Jake Thompson.

The 153 player field is competing in four age groups: 16-17, 14-15, 12-13 and 11 & under. The field was cut for Thursday's final round. Ninety players made the cut and to the final round.

Jay Sylvan of Columbia built on his first round lead to win the 14-15 Division by eight strokes. The 15 year-old posted a final round even par 72 for a two-over-par 218 total. The strong showing gave Sylvan a forth place finish overall and insured him

Dustin Johnson of Columbia claimed the 12-13 Division. Like the leaders in the other age groups, Johnson built on his second round lead to cruse to a nine stroke victory with an eight-over-par 224.

The 11 & under bracket went to Brad Satterfield of Spartanburg. Satterfield's posted nines of 37-38-38 to win by two strokes over Robert Greenlaw-Moore of Columbia.

Final Results


Matthew Hendrix (Aiken) 70-69-71--210

Jack Ferguson (Seneca) 68-74-73--215

David Sligh (North Augusta) 73-72-72--217

Michael Sims (Campobello) 74-73-71--218

Daniel Brunson (Greenville) 70-73-75--218

Michael Maness (Galivants Ferry) 75-73-71--219

D. J. Trahan (Inman) 76-74-71--221

Gregg Jones, Jr. (Florence) 72-74-75--221

Jake Thompson (Greenville) 70-74-77--221

Bryan Kelley (Spartanburg) 74-71-77--222

Jonathan Chamberlin (Rock Hill) 73-75-75--223

Matthew Robinson (Rock Hill) 76-77-71--224

Daniel Felder (Orangeburg) 75-75-74--224

Nash Elliott (Estill) 73-76-75--224

John Assey (Mt. Pleasant) 74-75-75--224

Kyle Bradley (North Augusta) 71-76-77--224

W. David Jewell, Jr. (Aiken) 78-76-71--225

Brad Easler (Spartanburg) 76-73-76--225

Bill Haas (Greer) 73-78-76--227

Justin Hornick (Spartanburg) 75-74-78--227

Brent Delahoussaye (Greer) 75-78-75--228

Max Jordan (York) 79-75-75--229

Barrett Wood (Simpsonville) 78-74-77--229

Jackson Hughes,III (Greenville) 75-76-79--230

Duane Barnes (Greenwood) 71-82-78--231

Edward Moseley (Spartanburg) 78-73-80--231

Taylor Kush (Columbia) 78-74-81--233

Jimmy Hinson (Chester) 73-80-80--233

Andrew Heath (Pelion) 76-78-80--234

Justin Turbeville (Marion) 76-78-82--236



Jay Sylvan (Columbia) 75-71-72--218

Emmett Turner (Greenwood) 76-78-72--226

Stephen Poole Jr. (Spartanburg) 72-79-76--227

Robert Chen (Orangeburg) 77-73-77--227

Robert Stoddard (Sumter) 78-71-81--230

Gavin Gillespie (Lexington) 74-80-76--230

Brian Duncan (Greenville) 78-76-76--230

Kevin Kisner (Aiken) 77-76-77--230

Hagan Jordan (Williamston) 79-77-75--231

Jason V Parketon (Greer) 77-79-75--231

Van Burgess (Boiling Springs) 75-77-79--231

Clark Truluck (Pawley's Island) 75-79-78--232

Shane Birckbichler (Greenville) 80-77-76--233

Alex Hamilton (Aiken) 79-76-78--233

Greg Benjamin (N. Augusta) 83-76-75--234

Charles Chapman (Mt. Croghan) 77-79-79--235

Thomas Self (Greenwood) 76-76-83--235

Nicky Biershenk (Boiling Springs) 82-75-79--236

Lewis White, Jr. (Spartanburg) 76-80-80--236

Darrell Ketola (Greenwood) 82-72-82--236

Todd Coggins (Gaffney) 78-83-79--240

Ryan Potter (Greenville) 81-80-80--241

Daniel Sloan (Greenville) 77-83-81--241

Herbert Ames (Florence) 76-85-81--242

Tyler Croxton (Laurens) 77-84-82--243

Scott Brown (North Augusta) 81-77-85--243

Jeff Spencer (Blythewood) 78-82-85--245



Dustin Johnson (Columbia) 78-73-73--224

Adam Hart (Blythewood) 77-79-77--233

Alex Sturgis (Rock Hill) 79-83-74--236

Joel McAlhaney (Aiken) 84-75-77--236

Matthew Mead (Greenville) 76-81-79--236

Zachary Moran (Taylors) 78-81-79--238

Luke Hart (Blythewood) 83-76-79--238

Zach Siefert (Simpsonville) 88-74-78--240

Rocky Reed (Orangeburg) 81-78-81--240


11 & Under

Division I

Brad Satterfield (Spartanburg) 37-38-38--113

Robert Greenlaw-Moore (Columbia) 37-39-39--115

Justin Thompson (Clarks Hill) 39-39-40--118

Allen Koon (Bamberg) 45-35-41--121


Division II

Mcarn Bennett (Cheraw) 40-41-37--118

Louis Rosborough (Blackstock) 39-42-39--120

Thomas Todd, III (Laurens) 41-40-41--122

Stephen M. Domino, II (Beaufort) 38-47-41--126

George Bryan, IV (Columbia) 44-41-41--126


Division III

Harrison Moore (Orangeburg) 45-41-37--123

Baker Elmore (Cheraw) 41-49-40--130

Jacob Burger (Orangeburg) 44-44-45--133

Wesley Bryan (Columbia) 46-51-53--150

McCuen Elmore (Cheraw) 52-49-58--159

Sponsors and Partners

© Copyright 2024. South Carolina Golf Association. All Rights Reserved.
Website & Hosting by BlueTone Media